My New Love: Green’s No Harm Chicken Parm Sandwich

I recently decided to try something I’ve never had before at Phoenix’s vegan stronghold – Green New American Vegetarian in Tempe – the No Harm Chicken Parm sandwich. I’ve never understood the concept of chicken parmesan – vegan or not. Why would you take a perfectly fried piece of food and cover it in sauce and melted cheese, thus destroying the crispy goodness of the breading? However, I’ve eaten so much rice and Asian food recently that I was craving something totally different. When we went to Green last weekend, I decided to give it a try and see what I was missing.

Much to my delight – I now have a new favorite menu item at Green. I liked it so much I went back for lunch during the work week and had it again!

Green's No Harm Chicken Parm Sandwich

The breaded mock-chicken was indeed perfectly fried, but the sauce and vegan cheese (unfortunately not Daiya) gave it a tangy zest that I didn’t expect, and it didn’t offend me texture-wise as much as I thought it would. The mock-chicken cutlet was thicker than what they use for the Secret BBQ Chicken Sandwich and Spicy Peanut Chicken Salad, and held together well. Now I’m wondering what else I can order with their breaded vegan chicken. If I could get them to put it on a bun with just some pickles, it might be the illusive vegan Chick-fil-a replacement I’ve been seeking for years!

My husband also tried something that I don’t think we’ve had before, or at least couldn’t remember – the Mongolian Bowl.

Green's Mongolian Bowl

He ordered it with crispy tofu and rice. The tamari sauce was light and somewhat dry – a very basic item that didn’t stand out compared to some of the other bowls like the Thai Peanut bowl. He thinks it would have been more flavorful if he had ordered it with the mock chicken.

We also tried one of the Soynami specials – I think it was called Dee’s Hazelnut.

Green's vegan Chocolate Hazelnut Soynami

It was a full-on chocolate and hazelnut delight, with tons of giant pieces of chocolate to chomp on. I still prefer the chocolate and peanut butter Soynami, but it was a fun end to a great meal.

7 Comments

Filed under Obsessions, vegan food, vegan Phoenix

7 responses to “My New Love: Green’s No Harm Chicken Parm Sandwich

  1. Just an FYI, I think you can request Daiya on any dish as a replacement for any of the other cheese substances they use. 🙂

    • 4legsgood

      I asked – they stopped carrying/using it! Very sad!

      • They did?! I had no idea. I knew they were using non-daiya stuff on my secret bbq and other stuff, but I figured I didn’t ask for it and that was the original recipe, and I rarely order their pizzas. So I guess I didn’t notice. Bummer! Cause if I order pizza, I would prefer the daiya for sure.

  2. Nikol

    Yay! I’m so glad to see you back. I discovered your blog just before your last July post and I thought maybe you stopped blogging. I tried Daiya last time I went to Whole Foods because of your recommendation and it was fabulous. Thank you for blogging about being vegan in the Phoenix area!

  3. I should have commented on this post, but just wanted to say that Green has Daiya again according to their facebook page. Yay!

Leave a Reply

